The history of this building in one of Vienna's oldest and most beautiful quarters dates back to 1651. At the fin-de-siècle around 1900, the former bank and stock exchange building with its various function rooms and Café Central, still on the premises today, became the focal point of Viennese society life. The Grand Hall with its ancillary rooms provides an eminently elegant setting for stylish events, presentations and conferences.
Palais Ferstel was built in its present form around 1860 by Heinrich von Ferstel, the architect of the Ringstraße boulevard, who incorporated eye-catching elements borrowed from Venetian and Florentine Trecento architecture. The historic building was carefully restored and revitalized in 1988-89 and comprises a total usable floor space of some 7,000 m². As well as managing the property, the ÖRAG Group is also responsible for facility management of the premises.
Fascinating historical fact: Palais Ferstel was already something of an architectural sensation when it was first built in the mid-17th century, being the first private building in Vienna to be installed with a mains water supply.